Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Short fuse & Palpitations - High or low Oestrogen?  (Read 926 times)

PMDD

Short fuse & Palpitations - High or low Oestrogen?
« on: May 03, 2020, 06:47:16 PM »

Hi there,

I'm relatively new to the 'chemical menopause' i've been placed in by my consultant, and i'm trying to sort out levels of HRT.......i was ok on Evorel Conti, but lately I have been getting increased palpitations and 'rattiness'......for you does this mean low or high oestrogen?

Thanks

Lisa xx

Perinowpost

Re: Short fuse & Palpitations - High or low Oestrogen?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2020, 07:28:59 PM »

PMDD

Palpitations are a symptom of low oestrogen. And for me rattiness is too much progesterone x

sheila99

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2020, 09:00:30 PM »

For me rattiness was low oestrogen. Haven't had palpitations but I believe they can be caused by both too much and too little oestrogen.

Kathleen

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2020, 10:27:16 AM »

Hello PMDD and welcome to the forum.

If by rattiness  you mean irritability then sign me up lol. My trusty meno book notes that  irritability is a sign of low oestrogen and is often accompanied by tearfulness. Certainly this is true in my case and I am post meno.
Palpitations are also a common occurrence with low oestrogen. I have had episodes of these in the past but nowadays I have milder, quivering feelings instead.

Hope this is helpful to you.

Take care.

K.

PMDD

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2020, 05:45:03 PM »

Thanks so much everyone, really helpful! So it looks like I may still be low on oestrogen  :-\

I have palpitations some parts of the day (like jolts or bumps), and a quiv'ery feeling at other parts of the day (mostly in the evening)......many tests over the years, all OK. BP/ECG etc.