Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Teaching and menopause  (Read 9134 times)

Sue B

Teaching and menopause
« on: January 04, 2017, 07:56:56 PM »

I've been a primary teacher for 32 years and have retired mostly due to my menopause symptoms which made my job very difficult. I wonder if there are other teachers who have had similar experiences?

Dancinggirl

Re: Teaching and menopause
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2017, 08:38:20 PM »

Hi and welcome to MM Sue B
So sorry to hear you have had to give up your job due to meno symptoms - I suspect there are many women who have to abandon their jobs and careers due the negative impact of the menopause. 
Did you not seek help from your doctor? Did your GP simply tell you to “ride the storm”?
I personally think it's appalling that experienced women have to stop working, experienced teachers are like gold dust, - there is help available and all women should be encouraged to talk to their GPs about their options.
The NICE guidelines actually recommend HRT as the first line of treatment for menopause symptoms and in fact 5 years of HRT in our 50s will protect our bones and heart for the long term.
Do read up all the info on this site, ask questions and maybe consider HRT to get your life and career back on track.
Quality of life is very important.
DG x 

Annie0710

« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2017, 09:03:12 PM »

Hi Sue

I was late getting my career as a bookkeeper, qualified at 38 from night school whilst working full time and really felt like I was on cloud 9 after years of choosing different jobs that fit in with raising my family

At 45 it was cut short when meno was diagnosed and I was told there was nothing else they could give me as I was on hrt since 32.  Thinking my life was over as a bookkeeper I threw in the towel and resigned