Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Author Topic: So frightened  (Read 2954 times)

Ellie309

So frightened
« on: March 29, 2017, 01:31:24 PM »

Hi everyone I am a newbie and would like any reassurance that what I am going through. I am 46 since having my kids 4 years my period cycles have been anywhere between 16 and 40 days. I started spotting about 14 days ago and then it kept going then it started coming down heavy on day 4 then went away then came down very heavy from last Wednesday. I have been passing lots of clots which petrify me.  The GP examined me can't feel anything, going for bloods next week and waiting for scan she said it would be highly unlikely anything wrong have got some northerisdone to stop bleeding, could be fibroids, perimenopause.  I am so worried about one of the tests which is a CA125 test and last time I had it came back double what it should be, after investigation it was because I have a history of cysts and when they scanned me there was 2 small fibroids.  That was 2 years ago. I am so worried.

nearly50

Re: So frightened
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2017, 01:52:51 PM »

Hi Ellie,

Welcome to the forum. Try not to worry as everything you've posted sounds pretty 'normal' (whatever that is!). I've experienced periods taking ages to get started and then stopping and starting - having that at the moment. Have a wee look here as some of this might sound familiar and Claireyou is also going for a scan soon too.

https://www.menopausematters.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,35087.0.html

Your doctor's just covering all bases and I know it is easier said than done, but try not to worry.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2017, 02:31:42 PM by nearly50 »

Claireylou

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2017, 02:03:59 PM »

Hi Ellie. I know exactly how frightened you are because I'm in the same boat at the moment  :)