Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Jitters and whooshing  (Read 12522 times)

T’oldlass

• First Flush
Jitters and whooshing
« on: February 14, 2024, 09:33:25 PM »

Hi. It’s my first post and sorry about the length of it!

I’ve been on HRT for 2 years now - I use. Oestrogel and utrogestan. I’ve complained about feeling anxious for a couple of years and it was anxiety that sent me off to the GP in the first place. Some days I’d just stare at the wall crying, and feeling totally flat and wishing I wasn’t here. Anyhoo, last May I had the mother of all panic attacks. I didn’t know that’s what it was and I ended up in A&E having ECGs and blood tests, all of which were ok. I went to the GP the following day, talked about my anxiety levels and was prescribed citalopram 10mg. My home life can be a bit meh and I’m a social worker and team manager, so you can imagine that can come with a high level of stress.

I’ve not been too bad since until recently. I’d notice that I tended to plummet a bit and feel anxious after I’d stopped the utrogestan after day 26 but then I’d pick back up again. But I can’t pick back up this time. I have had the jitters constantly for 2 weeks and convinced myself I have a heart problem or I’m about to have a stroke! I get four hours sleep if I’m lucky…I drop off no problem but I will wake up during the night. Every night between 2 and 4. And then I’m awake for the rest of the night with these jitters and feelings of dread. It’s 9.27pm now and the jitters have eased off but I know that it’s only temporary. And I must stop obsessing with my heart rate on the iwatch!