Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Citalopram  (Read 10413 times)

Annidav

Citalopram
« on: October 20, 2016, 09:57:59 AM »

hi- been to see ANOTHER GP this morning as wanted a general discussion about all of this and my continuing anxiety; she has prescribed me 20mg Citalopram - this is ringing alarm bells with me as I am sure I have read previous posts from ladies who have had bad experience of this???; she has also suggested I continue with the HRT as I am apparently on a high dose so she can't prescribe an increased dosage (I am on Elleste Conti Duet 2mg) and gave me a leaflet for an Anxiety Counselling Service so I have contacted them this morning and have an appointment on 9th November....

Annie0710

Re: Citalopram
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2016, 10:05:22 AM »

Hi I have NO experience of anxiety meds although meno has brought on a degree of anxiety for me (more social anxiety) but like you I'm sure I've read on here about that med with side effects.  Isn't there a sister drug similar in name that is more gentle ? Sorry I can't remember the name of it but it sounds like Citalopram x

Dancinggirl

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2016, 10:21:19 AM »

Hi fiftygirl - ADs/SRRIs are often needed alongside HRT to really get anxiety under control.  Citolapram is a popular one I understand and suits many people very well.  Like HRT and many other treatments it's often matter of trial and error before finding the one that suits.  My gynae recommended Citalopram to me should I need it - so I would try this SRRI and see how you get on.  Do read about some of the initial side effects so you are prepared as some people react quite strongly in the first 2-4 weeks on any AD or SRRI - however after about 2 weeks it should start to work it's magic.