Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Hello, I'm new!  (Read 4561 times)

Amazon66

Hello, I'm new!
« on: May 23, 2016, 03:29:13 PM »

Hi, I'm 50 and struggling!  I work full time as a scientist in a hospital so life is pretty stressful as it is without all the perimenopausal symptoms adding to the fun :(

I've been using oestrogel for six months and have a Mirena for the progesterone element of HRT, this has sorted my daytime hot flushes but not my nightsweats.  I initially had the Mirena for contraceptive use aged 48 so I've no idea what my periods would be doing if I didn't have it, I still have occasional spotting. For me anxiety is the biggest issue I'm currently struggling with, it can be overwhelming and I don't really know what to do to tackle it. I hope to pick up some tips and share information with other ladies dealing with this.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Hello, I'm new!
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2016, 03:37:52 PM »

:welcomemm:  even if the anxiety is hormonally linked there are things to help.  Yoga.  Brisk walking.  Swimming.  Some ADs ease anxiety symptoms though this is not the route that GPs have been advised to go down initially.  However, if ADs ease anxiety or maybe using Vallium or similar 'as necessary', will be enough.

Has your GP discussed vaginal atrophy too?   ;)

Browse round, make notes!

Amazon66

« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2016, 03:47:24 PM »

For VA symptoms I've tried Replens and it has helped, but the weird discharge it produces is difficult to put up with. I know I need to go back to the GP but it's a struggle to find time at the moment.

I know I need to bite the bullet and make time to sort this out - ironically the more I struggle with anxiety the less I seem to want to go to the doctors!

CLKD

« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2016, 03:50:58 PM »