Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Progesterone drop after Utrogestan  (Read 5803 times)

Niamh

Progesterone drop after Utrogestan
« on: December 11, 2015, 08:10:04 PM »

Hello had some really helpful advice the other day and wonder if I could ask again. Im new to HRT and seeing professor studd for escalating pmt, he's got me on 3 pumps of ostrogel daily, testerone gel too and 100mg of utrogestan for day 1-7 of each month (low dose as progesterone intolerant). Day 11 today and for the last few days especially today ive felt pretty low and not the good place I was before starting the utrogestan phase. Prof Studd had me just use oestrogen and testosterone for about 6 weeks on its own before I started utrogestan and I felt great. This is only the first month so as I said new to me but is this normal ive read a bit about dipping after the progesterone but things should pick up....? Thank you I see him again in Jan x

Mary G

Re: Progesterone drop after Utrogestan
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2015, 08:29:55 PM »

Niamh, yes, I think it is normal to feel a dip after your stop using the Utrogestan and before the period starts but don't worry, your system should get used to it and it will probably get better with time but if not, at least it will only be for a few days each month.  Are you taking the Utrogestan vaginally?  It does work better when taken that way because more of it reaches the womb and also there are fewer side effects like PMT and breast pain.