Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Early Menopause  (Read 4514 times)

Catina73

Early Menopause
« on: May 05, 2015, 08:39:25 PM »

Hi ladies!

This is my first time on Menopause Matters.

I discovered last year at the age of 40 after 6 years on the pill that i had gone through my menopause when I decided to come off it.

My FSH levels were so high they read as post menopausal  :'(

It has been a roller coaster of events since the, which I won't bore you with too  much but, the fertility clinic i visited put me on HRT named Cylco Progynova which did not agree with me at all. I was only on it for 2 months and then I came off in February. I have tried to manage with out HRT but felt like I was loosing the plot. Anxiety, very low mood, hair loss, tiredness to name but a few.

I went back to my GP who has put me on a more general HRT Elleste duet 1 mg which I started on Friday.
Just wondered if anyone knows why HRT is so drastically different from the pill ( I never had any problems at all) and how they got on with Elleste duet?

dazned

Re: Early Menopause
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2015, 08:28:02 AM »

Hello and   :welcomemm:

Cant help with the difference between hrt and contraceptives sorry but my first hrt was Estelle duet 1mg and I did very well with it for 4 years ,unfortunately finding one that suits you is just trial and error . Get yourself well informed by lookinh at all the topics and ask questions. At least you aren't alone now you will get loads of advice and support here.

Dancinggirl

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2015, 01:34:01 PM »

Hi and welcome to MM Catina73
I had a premature menopause that started in my 30s - I'm now 59 and have been on and off HRt since then.
At your age you really need HRT to protect your heart and bones - also to help prevent other nasty problems due to oestrogen deficiency.