Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Oestrogel  (Read 5076 times)

mmbecks

Oestrogel
« on: November 01, 2014, 01:48:03 PM »

Hello - I am new to writing on a forum but am giving it a go!  I am menopausal and seeing a gynaecologist privately who has prescribed Oestrogel and Utrogestan - my main symptom is insomnia.  My estrogen is less than 18 and so I am taking 4 pumps of Oestrogel a day (2 in the morning and 2 in the evening).  I've only been taking it for 3 weeks and I am sleeping a bit better, but still not great.  Would it be possible to increase the dose to 5 pumps (perhaps the extra pump before bedtime)?  Is anybody else out there using more than 4 pumps?  What's the harm in taking an increased dose - I could always reduce the dose again if I get any nasty side effects.  I'd love to hear if any of you have any ideas?  thanks

Suzyq

Re: Oestrogel
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2014, 02:03:37 PM »

I know you're impatient but I would stick with your current regime. 3 weeks is not enough time to see the full effects! Like you, my estrogen was 18 when I started hrt and it took 3 months to get he full benefit! If you increase too quickly you may well get some pretty nasty side-effects and then it takes time to get the estrogen out of your system!

I would at least give it another 5 weeks and then speak to your consultant.

meno lesley

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2014, 02:38:28 PM »

Hi

I use estrogel, one pump at night and one in the morning alongaside utrogestan. I am awaiting some hormone blood tests to ascertain whether i need more estrogel. I agree with Suzyq that best to speak to consultant as i have tried many different hrts and it has always taken about 3 months to settle.

Lesley

Joyce

« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2014, 04:33:24 PM »