Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Author Topic: Racing heart at night  (Read 2021 times)

eileenbeattie

Racing heart at night
« on: January 18, 2024, 07:05:08 PM »

Hi folks I'm pretty new to this page and was looking for some advice. I'm 48 and have been having a fast heart rate off and on for 10 years now. I've had all the tests and even a heart scan but nothing wrong. These usually happen when I'm in bed at night and can be quite scary. Im wondering if anyone else has had this symptom . Eileen  :) :)

jaypo

Re: Racing heart at night
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2024, 08:02:08 PM »

Hi,yes, get this,along with palpitations,sometimes it feels like my heart is going to beat through my chest,like you,I've had all the tests,just another delightful symptom of meno. Have you tried relaxation exercises? It may be you have anxiety in the mix too?

eileenbeattie

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2024, 08:15:26 PM »

Hi thank you for your reply. I thought I was going crazy getting these symptoms but glad I'm not the only one. I could easily be suffering anxiety as seems worse when I'm getting these racing heart beats

jaypo

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2024, 08:36:36 PM »

It really is a viscous circle,anxiety causes rapid beats and the rapid beats cause anxiety,it's quite a common symptom of meno but good you've had it checked out. Have you tried kalms or similar at bedtime?

eileenbeattie

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2024, 08:45:56 PM »

Thanks for your advice. I could give kalms a try to see if that settles me down a bit. I feel like I'm on edge everytime I go to bed thinking if my heart palpitations are going to kick off. Not much fun what we all go through but nice to talk to other people

jaypo

« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2024, 08:26:35 AM »