Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Coming off HRT  (Read 13531 times)

KayemBee

Coming off HRT
« on: January 17, 2024, 07:34:08 PM »

I have been using HRT (Kliovance pill 1mg) for about 5 years (or so) I have never really suffered from serious side-effects of Menopause except the hot flushes and brain fog (which subsided after a year or so) I've been looking into coming off HRT for a while now and as I have ADHD have forgotten to take my tablet on a daily basis, have noted that I don't suffer any side-effects. I am concerned about Osteoporosis but take regular Vit D due to living up North and working from home everyday, so wondered if anyone could give me any advice regarding other health issues I should be aware of and any alternative remedies that may help? I am overweight, so I know that losing weight will also help. I recognise that this is a big topic, so any links to useful articles will be highly appreciated too!

Thanks for the advice in advance.
Karen

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Coming off HRT
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2024, 08:22:08 PM »

Hi!  Get into the ☀️ as often as is possible.  Brisk walking 10 mins a day helps keep bones strength and eating well maintains healthy jaw bones by chewing.

Be honest with yourself and make a note of everything you eat/drink for 3 days. 

Decide which food stuffs you really enjoy. 

Then decide how much of those food choices are processed rather than fresh. 

I allow myself pizza and occasionally cheese ..... I have fads  :-\ 'marmite' on toast a few times a week. 

The idea is not to deny what we enjoy but to eat less, i.e. I have a small piece of chocolate for pudding at lunch and tea time.  It's the crunch of biting the twirl that I feel is addictive  ::)