Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Painkillers  (Read 2283 times)

Ayesha

Painkillers
« on: September 11, 2023, 11:22:18 AM »

I’ve been lucky in the past not to have needed painkillers and very rarely took them but now at this stage in my life I find I need to take them on a regular basis.
Two paracetamols have been ok each morning to ease the muscle pain but this Summer my aches and pains have notched up quite a bit, which always results in nausea which then causes reflux. 

I can’t take Ibuprofen because of stomach issues, I can use the gel which helps. I have started to take one co-codamol and one paracetamol in the hope that will work better than taking two paracetamols.
I know that GP’s can prescribe much stronger strengths if needed but right now I am using over the counter painkillers.

As I am new to painkillers I would love to know what painkillers do you rely on to ease your aches and pains and at what strength?

Penguin

Re: Painkillers
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2023, 11:40:04 AM »

I use Paramol for the really bad period pains I get. They are a mixture of paracetomol and dihydrocodeine, and I think they are the strongest you can buy otc. I cant take ibuprofenat all, they really upset my tummy. However, it does say not to take for more than three days as can cause addiction, so if you would want to use more regularly than that, then it'd be worth speaking to your GP.

Have you tried things like magnesium, and Epsom salt baths to help your aches and pains?

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2023, 11:44:28 AM »

U have my sympathy  :foryou: having suffered excruciating painful periods for many years with accompanying nausea, dizziness and general malaise as well as being very thirsty 24 hours B4 the period began.