Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: I’m new to this  (Read 1543 times)

Nugget

• First Flush
I’m new to this
« on: December 01, 2020, 09:03:43 PM »

Hi sorry if I ramble on but I’m new to this. Having looked at some posts already I’m beginning to think I’m not completely going insane!
I am 45 had a hysterectomy 5 years ago after years of endometriosis and poly cystic ovarian syndrome I can honestly say the uterine fibroids were the straw that broke the camels back. I was happy to go ahead with a total abdominal hysterectomy and was happy to be free of sometimes weeks of pain, anaemia, endless periods.....the list goes on and on.
I still have my ovaries as the doctors said removing them would bring on a surgical menopause and if left in place they would continue to function and I would go into a natural menopause when my body is ready.....
4 weeks post op I started to suffer with the worst anxiety I have ever experienced. Actual panic attacks so bad I was terrified of being left alone,  to being able to leave the house, along with night sweats, low mood, pain in just about every joint in my body.
Doctors prescribe sertraline, propanol and refered me to a cbt therapist which didn’t help at all. Changed track to citalopram and counselling still no improvement.....both therapists wanted to know what I was anxious about and what was causing these feeling of dread.....wish I knew myself because I’d be able to fix myself if I did.