Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: Newbie........any advice appreciated  (Read 785 times)

emmorolo

Newbie........any advice appreciated
« on: November 09, 2020, 08:46:56 AM »

Hi everyone ....another newbie here.......but so glad I found this site.....I now know it’s not just me..
I’m a 54 mum of four (youngest now15) .....and up until 5 years ago had always struggled with bad mood swings that made my life hell but which I thought was “just me” until I happened to mention this to a lovely lady doctor who I was seeing regarding a completely different ailment ...she put me on anti depressants straight away and she changed my life...as soon as I took them I felt “normal”...calm...
Anyway last September I changed jobs and I wish I hadn’t as new job started my anxiety off(had to leave job as couldn’t cope)..changed AD to accommodate my anxiety but now I have loads of menopause symptoms that my AD just don’t help
Achey joints ( this is the worst)..I can just about stand after a day at work
Irregular spurts of energy to not moving from sofa
Hot flushes
Weight gain...and more,!!!,
...should I think of HRT ..I’m having irregular periods ....not sure which what to do...?

« Last Edit: November 09, 2020, 09:03:20 AM by emmorolo »

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Newbie........any advice appreciated
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2020, 05:00:58 PM »

Hi!

Sounds like peri-menopause from where I'm sitting.

As oestrogen levels drop off the body may become dry, inside and out: scalp, deep in the ears, nostrils, vagina, skin ...... as well as muscles may become lax = aches and pains; hiatus hernia, reflux/indigestion/heartburn, frozen shoulder ..........