Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Any advice please?  (Read 947 times)

Julieg

Any advice please?
« on: February 17, 2020, 08:41:27 PM »

Hi
Hoping someone may be able to help.  I went through the menopause about 10 years ago and am now symptom free apart from vaginal atrophy.  I was fine all the time I was on oral hrt, but since being taken off that by gp because of risk factors I am now really suffering.  Sex is really painful, not just a little sore, but agonising, as if I have open cuts inside.  In fact it's impossible.  My gp prescribed vagifem 10 micro gram vaginal tablets, which I have been using as prescribed for several months and I have been buying vagisil prohydrate external gel and internal pessaries, none of which has made any difference at all.  Does anyone know of any other treatment available?  I'm only 62 and really want to get back to making love again.
I'm sure the problem is physical, not caused by anxiety.

Thanks so much for reading this post

Julie

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Any advice please?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2020, 08:54:09 PM »

Your GP is remiss.  How old were you when your GP took you off HRT?  If treatment was working, what did he think that taking you off it would do?

Get to the surgery pronto and ask the receptionist for an appt with the Nurse Practitioner:  discuss vaginal atrophy treatment- do read our threads here.  There are two treatments: Vagifem which is a very low dose and Ovestin : which ladies find useful, I am prescribed the latter.  Other moisturisers such a 'sylc' and 'yes' products can help too.  Some ladies find that they need 'vagifem' nightly and occasionally two doses at once.  It is about managing the symptoms.

As oestrogen levels drop the body may become dry: inside and out, vagina included  :o