Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Author Topic: Heart skipping beats.  (Read 1956 times)

yellowflower

Heart skipping beats.
« on: November 15, 2019, 02:19:23 AM »

Hi ladies. I am new to this amazing forum and would love any advice or experiences. I had a hysterectomy last year and kept my ovaries. I was perimenopausal at the time. After my operation, the nurse told me that when he took my pulse, I was skipping beats and should have an ECG. I had an ECG two weeks before my operation and it was OK, so I told the nurse I had already had one. I have had irregular beats for a few years with no other symptoms. I believe I am entering menopause now at the age of 54 as I am getting minor overheating in the middle of the night and I can feel my heart beating quite loudly and having what I believe to be palpitations. This happens during the night and I don't experience the palpitations during the day. The skipped beats are constant day and night and have been like that for a few years. I am having an ECG and holter monitor done on the 22nd November, but my older brother (doctor) seems to think it will be benign. Thoughts? 

Annie0710

Re: Heart skipping beats.
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2019, 06:57:52 AM »

Always best to get things checked out.  I have had the 24 hr monitor a couple of times now for irregular beats and the last time was more thorough with a scan as the monitor picked up that my beats ranged from 40-140 whilst sleeping.  I skip beats, double up etc and they have said twice now it's arrhythmia.  The highest they've gone on record at rest is 199 bpm.   Beta blockers would help but I can't take them x

Tinkerbell

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2019, 11:07:39 AM »

My palpitations are always worse at night, HRT has really helped calm them down.