Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Gilbert's disease  (Read 30860 times)

Tc

Gilbert's disease
« on: July 11, 2019, 12:54:35 PM »

I was diagnosed in my 20's. It's a genetic disorder where the faulty gene causes bilirubin to not passed into bile at the normal rate and it builds up in the blood.
  I was told although It can cause jaundice most people have few other symptoms And it's a relatively harmless condition.  So as a result I have given it very ittle thought in the last 30 years. I always have high readings but normal liver function which Is a feature of it. My Gp was going through my bloods today and said "high bilirubin, but we know that's because you've got Gilberts". Not unusual, but today it set me thinking.

So I looked it up on the NHS site. Something I've never done before and it said
Symptoms inchude
Tummy pain, fatigue, dizziness, nausea, IBS, brain fog and generaly feeling unwell.

more importantly there was a list of possible triggers associated with the condition:

Dehydration, fasting, lack of sleep, infection, surgery, stress and,... wait for it ....MENSTRUATION.

A link to hormones!!

I wonder if this so called "harmless disease" which I have dismissed  over the years because I wrongly thought it's only symptom was jaundice could be causing me problems now especially all my issues with HRT and particularly oral utrogestan.

I'd be interested if anyone has the condition how or if meno and HRT has affected it and vice versa. But I'd also be interested on any thoughts/ideas of you ladies who dont have it as well.

Thanks in anticipation. Xxxx

« Last Edit: July 11, 2019, 01:03:17 PM by Tc »

bear

Re: Gilbert's disease
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2019, 02:52:03 PM »

Hello Tc,