Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: No period for 3 months and enormous stomach  (Read 1579 times)

Bananacarnival

No period for 3 months and enormous stomach
« on: June 16, 2019, 10:57:07 PM »

Hi, is this normal? I think I'm very new to the whole menopause thing and doctors are still very dismissive saying I'm still too young (48!) and that "oh you're still having periods"...

Several months ago I was starting to get very heavy periods sometimes spaced only two weeks apart. But most recently, I've not had a period for almost 3 months. My tummy is very much like a firm pregnancy stomach and it's really disturbing especially in the morning when I wake up with it. Go to the loo it's still there. Very bloated and suddenly fatter. 

Is this part of the menopause? I'm wondering when my period will return. I'm taking vagifem pessary twice a week.

Thank you in advance

Salad

Re: No period for 3 months and enormous stomach
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2019, 11:08:06 PM »

HI  :)

I wouldn't say you're too young to be having some symptoms of menopause - if you have a read around the threads I'm sure you'll see for yourself.
It's a bit concerning that your doctors don't seem to be taking you seriously. If they don't think your symptoms are menopause related then I hope they are referring you for further investigation.

:welcomemm:

pants46

• Still Struggling
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2019, 11:31:17 PM »

Banana,
Sounds like the menopause to me. Although you may want to get a scan of your uterus and ovaries to make sure there is nothing else going on.