Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: And so it begins  (Read 2898 times)

Freckles1971

And so it begins
« on: October 05, 2018, 11:16:34 PM »

I rang the Doctor for my blood test results and he told me I was perimenopause,as well as my blood/sugars being a bit high. So I have an appointment for 17th October. I'm new to all this,so what happens next?   

Thank you. Margaret.

Dancinggirl

Re: And so it begins
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2018, 09:50:45 AM »

Hi and welcome Freckles
Read up all the factual Info on this site to really get clued up.
Write down all your symptoms and questions and print out the info on the various hrt treatments for peri menopause from this site - take this to your appointment to aid discussion.
The GP may try to push ADs/SSRIs but you need to strongly resist this and make it clear that the NICE guidelines state that HRT is the front line treatment for menopause symptoms.
If you are prescribed hrt then see if you can get Femoston 1/10 as this is often better tolerated than Elleste (the cheapest hrt type).
I'm not sure what impact raised blood sugar will have on everything?? Are you carrying a bit too much extra weight? Can you change to your diet to help with this? Hopefully the doctor will advice about this.
Let us know how you get on. DGx

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2018, 09:58:49 AM »

Don't let the blood sugar readings influence what you decide to try.  Ask for an appt. with a Practice Nurse to monitor readings.  Without knowing what your over-all diet is, plus exericse regime, a 1-off result probably means nowt.  Perhaps keep a mood/food/symptom diary to take with you?