Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Newbie here!  (Read 1038 times)

shrosphirelass

Newbie here!
« on: August 02, 2018, 06:11:11 PM »

Hi, I'm a newbie to this site. I'm 56 and have still been having  regularish periods. I feel like I have been in peri for ever, at least 10 years! Recently my hormonal headaches have got so awful I can't manage. Ive was prescribed mefamic acid ages ago which doesn't touch them. Also tried a low dose antidepressant which is used for migraines, but just made me sick. I had a ear nose throat referral (sinuses all clear). I also feel dreadfully sick and have waves of intense nausea intermittently with dizziness. Have to take a pack of sweets with me where ever I go which helps with the nausea or perhaps distracts me from it a bit. I haven't had hot flushes but have been permanently hot and this week have had flashes of heat and dizziness that feels like I am going to pass out. I have finally given in and am trying HRT, evorel sequi and am so nervous as side effects say headaches and nausea! The Dr suggested I started on half a patch to begin with and see how I got on. Started yesterday, felt sick all day but then felt sick before I took them! Anyone get any experiences to share? Looking forward to talking to some of you.

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Newbie here!
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2018, 06:34:23 PM »

HORMONES!

I had some of your symptoms in my mid-30s and was advised to eat every 3 hours, 24/7 to keep the body nourished.  Could be related to low blood sugar which can cause sudden dips in energy = intense nausea. I had to ask to use a loo in a Chemists one day, she was not keen and began to suggest that I find the public ones well actually .......... I wasn't ill but I felt AWFUL and I don't think that she felt much better  ::)