Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Newbie from Oklahoma  (Read 1858 times)

Smalltownok

Newbie from Oklahoma
« on: February 10, 2017, 03:42:43 PM »

Hello! I'm a newbie and I'm so glad to be here.  I am not having huge issues... just nagging issues.  LOL  Menopause started at about 43 for me with periods that started coming sporadically instead of like clockwork.  I had to do a cortisol spit test and then some blood work.  My doctor started me on some cream that I put on my belly (I can't remember now exactly what it was...) then I graduated to Premrin which I took for a couple of years and now for a couple of more years I have been taking an estrogen and testosterone supplements.  I say all this to say I have been on HRT for 6-7 years and I just now at 51 (almost 52 in April) to be having "break through" menopause symptoms even though I continue to take my supplements.  Does that make sense?  When I had my last appointment with my GYN in the summer she said that I shouldn't need to change my meds and that we will look at them again next year.  But... I am having sleeping issues and itchy scalp issues, among other smaller things.  Is this unusual?  Like clockwork, unless I take a nighttime tylenol, I will wake up around 3 each morning.  Half the time I stay up and half the time I can go back to sleep.  When I wake, I have a flush of hotness.  And, the itchy scalp has just had me clawing my head - sorry, gross I know, but it's not dandruff or anything because my husband and I have looked!  I have called my doctor because I'm due a refill on my meds - and I left a message that I am having symptoms in case she wants to change my meds before refilling my old. So..... here I am, at the mercy of needing a good night of sleep and a scalp that doesn't itch! :-)  Hopefully I can find some answers here.....

CLKD