Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Author Topic: Crashing Fatigue  (Read 12160 times)

1968kiwi

Crashing Fatigue
« on: December 01, 2015, 12:58:25 PM »

Hi all. I'm new to perimenopause and to this forum. Have a fairly unhelpful GP and can't easily see a different GP so hoping for some info from here.

I've been experiencing a lot of the common perimenopause symptoms for about 4 months. One issue is making life really difficult - crashing fatigue.

The fatigue hits at random times and so is really hard to deal with. It leaves me unable to do anything other than be unconscious (I can't call it sleep because it doesn't feel like sleep!). Hard to maintain a career and social life when a need to be unconscious can occur at any time. It hits a few times a week on average and lasts usually around 4 hours but as long as 20 hours a couple of times.

I've had lots of blood tests so know the fatigue is not related to any of the common causes, and I have been trying supplements, diet, exercise etc but it's pretty much evident that this is a hormonal thing.

Have any of you had similar symptoms?

Are there any mediations that help?

Really hoping for some good news.... :)

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Crashing Fatigue
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 03:28:30 PM »

:welcomemm:

Some ladies find that herbals etc. help for a while but when their hormones kick in and start fluctuating, any good effects are lost.  HRT can be useful, have a browse round the Forum and make notes. 

I remember the sudden need to sleep really well, fortunately by then I had retired and worked from home.  I remember my Mum sitting down suddenly and dropping off to sleep …….. no explanation, it simply happened.

Making sure that you are hydrated and maybe eating little and often might ease it a little.

Hurdity