Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: 37 and starting menopause  (Read 2930 times)

MichieG

37 and starting menopause
« on: November 17, 2015, 08:20:33 PM »

Hello newbie here  :-*

I am 37, and a few months ago I had key hole surgery to remove a 7cm cyst (I named her Cynthia) from my ovary.

During my stay in hospital the hospital staff enquired about my situation and in particular to my cycle which was easy for me to answer I don't have one... I have been on the contraceptive injection (depro provera) since I was 15, so I haven't had a period for 22 years!!

On hearing this I was asked by my friend that was with me "when that time comes, how will you know when you are going through menopause", well this got me thinking you know what I don't know.

So on getting out of hospital I checked what the symptoms and it seems I have quiet a few, in isolation I hadn't put the link between my night sweats, insomnia, palpitations, my mood swings etc.. And I am sure is related my nails have always been rock solid they are now weak as paper, my hair is lank and my joints ache (although I am a gym goer so it could be that), I also cannot seem to curb my comfort eating.

Anyway I saw my doctor, we agreed I'd take a short break from my contraception and then go for a blood test, although I think he only agreed to the blood test to appease me, he'd already pointed out that 43 is considered early for menopause so it would be highly unlikely that I was.

Whilst waiting for my blood results I visited my grandfather who confirmed my deceased grandmother had experienced menopause at 30, so it seems it's in the family. Mum isn't someone for going to the docs and with the stigma of HRT she didn't go straight away so it's not on her record + she had thyroid so her body was all over the place.