Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: I honestly thought I was losing my mind, and then....  (Read 4630 times)

MegnB

I honestly thought I was losing my mind, and then....
« on: October 14, 2015, 10:46:54 AM »

First, I have to thank everyone on the forum for posting the information I've been stalking for the past 2 months.  I can't remember how I found you, but thanks!!

In retrospect, everything makes sense now, but 8 months ago I seriously thought I was having a mental breakdown...me, the hard charging, expat, do everything woman with a sweet husband and 3 lovely kids.

It started with anxiety attacks, the little b-stards snuck up on me 2 or 3 times a day.  That sweaty, hysterical woman on the tube, in Waitrose, hiding in the restroom of Selfridges?  That was me.  I was an exhausted, sweaty mess by 3pm everyday.  Exhausted!!

Weight gain?  6kgs in 10 months despite spinning twice a week, weightlifting twice a week and one or two other fitness classes.  The weight gain probably came from me sitting on the sofa, eating chocolate and sobbing at least an hour every day.  Sweating, of course because it was SO HOT. :/

I was a total train wreck.  I couldn't concentrate, was scattered, left my keys in the fruit bowl and had to have another set made bc they were "lost."  My writing projects looked like the work of a demented 6 year old. 

Up 2 or 3 times at night because it was soooo hot in my bedroom, despite me having the aircon on the highest setting.  My night-time mantras became "Why is it so hot in here?" and , to the husband "Why are you such a human furnace?" (as I shove him to the other side of the bed).