Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Author Topic: Newbie to forum, advice on evorel conti patches  (Read 4805 times)

Milliepops

Newbie to forum, advice on evorel conti patches
« on: February 04, 2015, 06:52:58 PM »

Hi everyone

I am new to this site and looking for some advice.  I was diagnosed with premature menopause (I am 41) 5 months ago.  My doctor prescribed evorel conti patches which I have been using since early November 2014.  Approx 6 weeks after using them I started a bleed, and this lasted 9 days.  And the. 3 weeks later I started another bleed and am now on day 20  ???

Does anyone know if this is "normal" or experienced this.  My doctor said I would have light bleeds, but this isn't very light either and its wearing me down a little.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thankyou.x

Dancinggirl

Re: Newbie to forum, advice on evorel conti patches
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2015, 07:31:22 PM »

Yes, It is quite normal to get some breakthrough bleeding in the first six months on a continuous HRT.  It is your body getting used to the hormones and you may find you get some random spotting as well. However the bleeds shouldn't be so heavy or last this long really so I would go back to the doctor and check this. I have to say that, though you were probably deemed post menopause, at your age a sequential HRT preparation would probably have been better to start with but I'd see how you go - perhaps ask for the sequential version of this patch if you are finding it suits you generally. If you use a sequential version you will then be able to tell whether you are reacting negatively to the progesterone and then change to a different type if need be.