Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please have a look at the questionnaire page if you have a spare minute.

media

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11

Author Topic: Music and musicians  (Read 47141 times)

Dulciana

Music and musicians
« on: February 01, 2015, 03:58:24 PM »

Hi Dulciana,
Lovely to hear from a fellow musician!
Here's a potted history of me -
I started playing the flute at 9 and passed grade 8 with distinction at 12, at which point I won a scholarship to study as a Junior on Saturdays at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. I went on to study full time there at 18, before doing a post grad at the Royal Academy of Music.
At 21, I trialled with Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, and then was asked to play for the orchestra of Welsh National Opera when I was 22. I played with them for 13 years, but also played for the Halle, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, London Sinfonietta, among others.
I played on tv, radio, CD (Charlotte Church's first album, among others!) and it was while playing for WNO that I met my husband, who is a percussionist. He still plays for WNO and also teaches at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. I don't really play professionally any more, but I teach and my son has recently started learning the  cello. I play piano as well, which I find very relaxing. I miss my nights on stage and in the pit, all the lovely people I worked with, the excitement etc but I needed to be at home for my children.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------