Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Author Topic: Newbie here...  (Read 1037 times)

JoWade

• First Flush
Newbie here...
« on: October 16, 2022, 01:26:10 PM »

Hello all,
Newbie here - trying to sift information about the menopause and share experiences.
I have the Mirena coil (due to be replaced next year) and have estrodril patches
Wondering whether to go cold turkey and stop everything ........

Flossieteacake

Re: Newbie here...
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2022, 01:36:50 PM »

Hello JoWade. Welcome to the forum. What is the reason you are thinking of going cold turkey?

JoWade

• First Flush
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2022, 01:44:14 PM »

The patches really irritate my skin, and after not having periods for many years when I just had the mirena in, I now have regular painful periods back. GP says that's because I am having oestrogen. 
I am 53 now, started on HRT over three years ago.
How do I know when I am through it?

Flossieteacake

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2022, 01:55:34 PM »

The patches really irritate my skin, and after not having periods for many years when I just had the mirena in, I now have regular painful periods back. GP says that's because I am having oestrogen. 
I am 53 now, started on HRT over three years ago.

The glue on the patches can be irritating and sometimes people prefer to use gel instead. I am sorry the patches caused you to have painful periods. I am not aware oestrogen causes periods to return. I wonder if a different oestrogen type may be better for you but I understand you may prefer not to use any.

There is a post menopause section on here which you may find helpful. :)

Joaniepat

« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2022, 04:05:41 PM »