Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Author Topic: Stopping Sertraline & starting HRT  (Read 1968 times)

Frizzbomb

• First Flush
Stopping Sertraline & starting HRT
« on: June 30, 2021, 06:21:19 AM »

Good morning all

I’ve been on Sertraline for a year now for  anxiety exacerbated by the pandemic  :(.  It has helped no end, but I’ve spoken to an advanced nurse practitioner about coming off of it because I’m not feeling as sharp and a little fuzzy on it. I’m not doing my job as well as I could.

She advised me how to come off of it (I work in a school office so I plan to come off during the summer). We spoke about menopause and she said it could be time to go on HRT.

Has anyone been in a similar situation?  I mostly read about women taking both Sertraline and HRT. I’m concerned that the HRT alone will not have the same effect, that being to have an element of control over fixating on mistakes etc.

I’d really appreciate any point of view!

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: Stopping Sertraline & starting HRT
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2021, 08:04:35 AM »

I would continue with the Sertraline until the HRT kicks in.

MayB keep a mood/food/symptom diary to chart progress.  HRT can be Trial and Error as well as taking a while to find something which suits.  Perhaps decide which symptom you would like to ease first?

I feel dozy due to busy, involved, long dreams - it takes while to 'come round' every morning, I've taken an anti-depressant since the 1980s. I have an as necessary anti-anxiety tablet to hand which I haven't required for 2 years partly due to lock down ;-)

scrubdub

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2021, 03:09:13 PM »