Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: HRT - will it help anxiety?  (Read 2969 times)

Beaniehat

HRT - will it help anxiety?
« on: March 11, 2021, 01:21:06 PM »

Hi all. I've been sitting with a box of HRT for a few months now without touching it as i've been feeling ok and my periods have become regular again (ish).

Then hit by a wall of anxiety at the start of this week (end of an 8-day period) feeling like i cannot cope with anything. This time last week i was firing on all cylinders and loving life. I can barely eat or sleep, can't concentrate on work and i feel like i'm just on a constant adrenaline rush but not in a good way.

WTF is wrong with me? Should i start my HRT or would that make it worse?

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
Re: HRT - will it help anxiety?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2021, 01:31:55 PM »

Hormones! 

Do U keep a mood/food/symptom diary to chart progress, some find it useful.  Think back to why you were prescribed HRT?  It can take 3-4 months B4 benefit is felt.

Beaniehat

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2021, 01:44:07 PM »

I haven't even started the HRT, i was feeling good so thought why rock the boat.... can perimenopausal anxiety really be this crippling?

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2021, 01:45:27 PM »

Yep.  How were your moods when you had regular periods?  I would be really tearful the night B4 a bleed began, even if a period wasn't due.  I know that was 'within normal limits' for my cycle.

sheila99

« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2021, 02:00:29 PM »

Yes. Anxiety and insomnia were my worst symptoms. Cured by hrt though it did take 3 months. What have you been prescribed?

Nas

« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2021, 08:54:38 PM »

Hormones. It really can be that sudden.