Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: Hello! Newbie here  (Read 5948 times)

Dancinggirl

Re: Hello! Newbie here
« Reply #15 on: November 22, 2016, 10:39:13 AM »

CKLD - ADs/SRRIs are appropriate treatment if prescribed for the right reasons. If you read my posts, I often suggest to ladies suffering with terrible anxiety, that HRT alone is often not enough to control this and an SRRI alongside HRT may be appropriate.
Too many women go to their GPs in a terrible state due to lack of sleep, burst into tears and the GPs will often jump to the conclusion they are depressed without going through the proper diagnosis procedures. A 10 min appointment is not enough to really get to the bottom of why a women is feeling so anxious or possibly depressed but lack of sleep and constant flushes are highly likely to be the cause when meno symptoms hit.  If GPs were given a list of key questions to ascertain whether ADs and/or HRT are appropriate this might help matters. A history of anxiety or depression should also be taken into account, however, if a women says she cannot sleep because of night sweats and gets numerous flushes throughout the day that trigger anxious feelings, then setting out the clear options of HRT or possibly ADs/SRRIs should be offered, highlighting the benefits, side effects and risks of both treatments, then she can make a better informed choice.  The days of routinely offering ADs/SRRIs should be behind us now - these drugs should be offered with caution.