Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Author Topic: Hi from Greece  (Read 1322 times)

Stephjkm

Hi from Greece
« on: February 15, 2017, 05:57:45 PM »

Newbie here!

Glad to find you all and hope I'll learn lots of coping skills from you all.

I'm 50 and have been peri-menopausal for a couple of years with the main problems being erratic and very heavy periods and frequent flooding (although they have always been heavy, even when on the pill). After a couple of years trying tranexamic acid, alone and then with ponstan, folowed by a seven month trial of Qlaira, to manage my heavy bleeding I finally took the plunge and had a mirena iud fitted almost three months ago. So far it hasn't completely stopped my periods but it has made a massive change to my quality of life - I can now go out for the day without a backpack full of tampons and sanitary towels!

I'm just starting to get more generalised symptoms such as night sweats and irritability etc and wonder if it's time for me to consider aome oestrogen replacement therapy too.

Menomale

Re: Hi from Greece
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2017, 06:09:21 PM »

Hi from Brazil!

Welcome Steph!
I'm no HRT expert but many ladies here are and will guide you through the huge amount of information. Glad to have another outlander here (Brexit times...)  ;)

XXX

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 07:10:49 PM »

Now to do with Brexit  :-\ - people left the UK to work abroad way B4 any thoughts of a referendum

:welcomemm:  browse round.  Make notes.   Let us know how accessible your medical health is or if you need to buy from the UK.  I'm sure that someone will be along re HRT etc..

Do look out for vaginal atrophy though  ::) (use the search button for more info.)

Hurdity

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2017, 07:55:57 PM »

Hi Stephjkm