Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Not a Forum member? You can still subscribe to our Free Newsletter

media

Author Topic: I just don't know what to do about my HRT  (Read 2285 times)

Poppies99

I just don't know what to do about my HRT
« on: December 09, 2015, 08:43:04 PM »

Dear All
I'm a newbie although I've been reading this forum for several months now and so glad to have been told about it.
As the heading says – I just don't know what to do....I've been on and off HRT since 2013. Meno has been a very hard journey at times.  I turned to HRT in desperation.  My main symptoms were what seemed to be anxiety attacks in the middle of the night – I was waking up a couple of times almost every night with terrible palpitations, generally not sleeping well, and also dreadful feelings of anxiety, emotional, mood swings, dark thoughts.......... This went on for 3 years before I found out these symptoms are associated with peri-meno.  I remember sitting on the train one evening going home from work, starting to feel physically so uncomfortable almost to the point that  I just couldn't sit there any longer and then I had a sudden strong urge to get off and throw myself under the next train.  It just felt like a really logical thing to do/that something was driving me to this.  Is there something deeply biological, evolutionary about this? Really awful.  I've never shared this with anyone, although told my GP at the time that I had started feeling suicidal. 
My first HRT – Evoral 50mcg patch caused me to wake up every single hour with terrible palpitations and feelings of anxiety so stopped using it immediately.  Seemed to magnify my worst symptoms.  Since, I've tried tablets, other patches, and I'm now on Sandrena Gel – started with .5mg -and Utro.vaginally