Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

media

Author Topic: Menopause/HRT advice needed  (Read 3680 times)

Jennifer3318

Menopause/HRT advice needed
« on: April 09, 2015, 10:52:32 PM »

Hello all, this is my first time posting.  I am almost 54 and had not had a period for about 9 months, I initially went to see a GP because of vaginally soreness (had no idea this was connected with the menopause) and was basically told what do you expect at your age. I was shocked and upset and given no treatment. After becoming very depressed with this i eventually went to see another GP who was very supportive and gave me ovestin cream which did help a bit. I was then put on Climagest 2mg but had very heavy bleeds so now on Femostan 1/5 conti which is good but I am still bleeding very heavy. Would higher oestragen help stop the bleeding or is there anything else better that I could try? My GP is lovely but young so no personal experience of any HRT. I realise how naive I have been about the menopause and should have known more about it but have no one to ask. Any advice would be appreciated.

Dancinggirl

Re: Menopause/HRT advice needed
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2015, 06:57:37 AM »

Hi and welcome Jaennifer3318
You have not been naive - I'm afraid most us enter menopause completely ignorant about what it entails.
Do read up all the info on this site - it's really good to be clued up.