Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Mobile version of the Forum Click here

media

Author Topic: Hello Newbie here from Somerset - Dry mouth anyone?  (Read 6946 times)

Momo

Hello Newbie here from Somerset - Dry mouth anyone?
« on: February 10, 2015, 03:20:19 PM »

Hello
my name is Momo and I am 45 years old, have not fully kicked into the menopause as my last period was about 100 days ago and the one before that was similar time frame but I have various blood tests last year and the Doc confirms I am well on my way to the menopause.
I am not taking any medication so I am seeing how things work out. However the biggest thing is that  I  have at the moment that is driving me up the wall is  a dry feeling mouth although I still produce plenty of saliva ( is this too much info????) anyway I just wanted to ask if a dry mouth whilst not taking any medication could be part of the menopause? I have felt like this for last 18 months or so.

I have had tests for Diabetes and Thyroid and liver function which have all been clear and am just about to go for a CRP test to rule out other random Auto immune possibilities. It's not that I want to have anything wrong, but I am fed up of always feeling thirsty and never being able to quench it so I would love to find a solution.

I do drink tea and coffee but balance that by drinking tons of water and herbal teas too, but I will drink from the moment I get up until I go to bed, just in a bid to stop my mouth feeling like a desert!

Does this seem familiar to anyone else or is it just me being weird  ;D

thanks for any advice and all the best Momo

honorsmum

Re: Hello Newbie here from Somerset - Dry mouth anyone?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2015, 05:17:08 PM »

Welcome, Momo!

I am the same age as you, and believe I'm going through perimenopause, but my GP refuses to entertain the idea.