Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: Hi  (Read 3990 times)

Powderpuff

Hi
« on: June 19, 2013, 08:30:42 PM »

Hello ladies. I've been browsing this site for approx 6 months now and finally took the plunge and registered.

I'm 45 and believe I've been Peri-menopausal for about 3 years. I have been having night sweats throughout this time and for the last 6 months have been experiencing terrible anxiety, mood swings, hair loss, brain fog & my periods are becoming a bit erratic in length/flow. I think I'm also starting with hot flushes but only around my head!? 

I went to the doctor yesterday following an earlier visit and requested HRT (mostly to help with the emotional problems I'm having). After researching the various options I requested Estradot patches and Utrogestan pills(because of hair loss),which the doctor happily prescribed.

I'm a bit confused though as to when I'm supposed to start them and the doctor didn't explain (she wasn't that familiar with the different varieties of HRT)

The leaflet states I can start the patches anytime because I'm not on an existing HRT and the Utrogestan leaflet states to take that at bedtime on day 15 to 26 of my cycle.

Am I best to wait until my next period to start the patches? Otherwise it's 16 days until my actual period is due and if I start the patches now it would be 31 days until I take the Utrogestan . Will that matter? Any help would be much appreciated ( I tied myself up in knots last night thinking about it all - part of my anxiety, everything becomes a huge issue!)

KatieLiz

Re: Hi
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 08:43:09 PM »

Welcome to the forum!