Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 76 out now. (Summer issue, June 2024)

media

Pages: 1 ... 10 11 [12] 13 14 ... 74

Author Topic: For all of us looking after elderly relatives  (Read 256831 times)

purplenanny

Re: For all of us looking after elderly relatives
« Reply #165 on: November 12, 2012, 11:09:28 AM »

Sorry to hear your news groundhog. You are having a difficult time and have some hard decisions.

I have no experience of what aftercare is available but I see the other ladies are helping with this. Many years ago my MIL needed care and I wanted to have her with us. Hubby said no as he was worried that as time went by, her health was only going to get worse and at the time we had 2 young children. We would then have to make such a more difficult decision having cared at home for her.  We searched for the best home we could find and she spent many comfortable years there. Her care needs did increase and we could not have coped.

From what you have said and hopefully the care that may be available, I think to stay in her own home would be best. Then her sisters can visit and she won't feel isolated. I also agree with Taz - ask for all the help you can

You are asking too much of yourself to have her home with you. You have your own care needs and you have given up work for you to take things easier, not take on more. How would you manage after your operation? OH would have a lot to cope with. We do get set in our ways and this would be a huge change for all of you. Have you been able to discuss with your Mum or is she still too poorly?

I know it is easy to say but please try not to feel guilty, it won't help you in making your decision. Have you chatted to your Aunts about it? You do need support in this

Thinking of you. Purplenanny x x

flushtered

« Reply #166 on: November 12, 2012, 03:56:18 PM »

Hi groundhog