Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Menopause Matters magazine ISSUE 75 out now. (Spring issue, March 2024)

media

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New To HRT  (Read 8763 times)

Judeb

New To HRT
« on: April 28, 2014, 09:59:17 AM »

Hi, I'm a newbie to the forum and to HRT so apologies if I am putting this in the wrong place.

I am 43 and hadn't had a period for over 18 months.  FSH levels were checked and were very high so considered by Dr to be postmenopausal.  Due to age Dr suggested HRT even though the only problems I had were hot flushes and I could cope.   Apparently it is due to risk to bones and heart problems in later life.

I have been on Femseven Conti for about 5 weeks and in that time had 2 periods and I mean periods, sore boobs, put on weight and am generally cranky!!!! 

The chemist could only give me 6 patches and has told me this morning he has not been able to get any more in so I am waiting for a call from the Dr but am beginning to wonder it it's worth it.   The downside of HRT seems far worse than the flushes.  Is there any alternative to Femseven that might also help all the other side effects that I seem to have developed??

Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Judeb

Re: New To HRT
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 11:53:34 AM »

Update
Just spoken to Dr who wasn't my usual GP and not sure he really understood that I had only been on HRt for 5 weeks.  He said the bleeding was unusual and when I pointed out that all the other information said it wasn't he didn't know what I was talking about!!

Anyway he said stop immediately and go for a review in 6 weeks so that is what I will have to do as I haven't got any more patches anyway.

Anyone else had this?

ellie66

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2014, 12:54:54 PM »