Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Got a story to tell for the magazine? Get in touch with the editor!

media

Author Topic: TONSIL STONE  (Read 2118 times)

Whatsupwiththis

TONSIL STONE
« on: June 20, 2022, 12:21:58 AM »

Hi ladies.  After not being able to swallow, I finally decided to go to emergency.  There I was dx'ed with a tonsil stone.  Hurts like H, and they couldn't dislodge the stone due to my severe gag reflex.  I have tried saltwater gargle but still can't get any relief.  Anyone else had these and how did you get rid of them?  How long do they last?  I haven't eaten in 4 days...just too painful.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Marchlove

Re: TONSIL STONE
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2022, 06:13:25 AM »

Hi

Didn’t the hospital suggest sedation to remove the stone? What did they suggest going forward?

I’ve no experience of this at all so the only advice I have is regards to food is that try eating soup.

I think you need to contact your GP xx

CLKD

• changes can be scary, even when we want them
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2022, 07:12:12 AM »

Didn't you be seen by an ENT bod in A&E or is there no joined up thinking  >:(

I believe that it's either a build up of calcium or debris.  MayB ring your dentist for advice?

Kathleen

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2022, 09:11:34 AM »

Hello Whatsupwiththis

A GP told my neighbour that a good way to treat a tonsil stone is to gargle with lemon juice, apparently the acid in the juice breaks up the stone. My neighbour immediately went out and bought some lemons. I haven't seen her since but if you give it a try do let us know if it works.

Take care.

K.

Whatsupwiththis

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2022, 01:00:55 PM »